UNF / Aktiviteter / 10. april 2018 • Iq Nobel Prize: first laugh, then think

Iq Nobel Prize: first laugh, then think

Livestreaming fra Aarhus Universitet
Foredrag ved

UNF Vestsjælland

Dette foredrag er på engelsk og alle er velkomne.

Der livestreames endnu en gang foredrag i samarbejde med ZBC Selandia og Aarhus Univresitet. Denne gang handler det om "Ig Nobel Priserne"- alternativet til Nobel Priser.

Der skrives om foredraget:

We are again able to invite some of the researchers who have received the alternative Nobel Prize – the Ig Nobel Prize – to Aarhus University. It is hard to describe the Ig Nobel Prize and not least lectures of the price winners – it needs to be experienced. Here is a try though: The award ceremony takes place every year in a blaze of publicity at a great gala ceremony at Harvard University, USA and is orchestrated by the founder of the prize, Marc Abrahams. The Nobel Prize brings into focus ten research results of the year that are exceptionally creative, unlikely and bizarre, though still serious. To put it in another way: The prize goes to “peculiar research” that in the first place makes us laugh and then afterwards gives us food for thought.

The prize covers a wide range of sciences, yet with main emphasis on natural science, medicine and social science. In general, the prizes are given to respected serious research which has been published in peer-reviewed scientific journals.

The evening will begin with a short lecture from the founder of the prize Marc Abrahams who, with a twinkle in the eye, will talk about the prize, the ceremony at Harvard University and some of the latest years prize winners and their research “which neither can or should be repeated”. After this, the Ig Nobel Prize winners below will explain and perhaps demonstrate their prize-winning achievements:

Marc-Antoine Fardin, Institute Jacques Monod, CNRS, Université Paris Diderot – for using fluid dynamics to probe the question "Can a Cat Be Both a Solid and a Liquid?". (2017 PHYSICS PRIZE).

Marisa López-Teijón and Alex Garcia-Faura, Institut Marquès, Spain – for showing that a developing human foetus responds more strongly to music that is played electromechanically inside the mother's vagina than to music that is played electromechanically on the mother's belly. (2017 OBSTETRICS PRIZE).

Minna Lyons University of Liverpool, United Kingdom – for amassing evidence that people who habitually stay up late are, on average, more self-admiring, more manipulative, and more psychopathic than people who habitually arise early in the morning. (2014 PSYCHOLOGY PRIZE).

Warning: The lectures are not suitable for the humourless. :-)

Praktisk info

FOREDRAG • UNF Vestsjælland

Tirsdag d. 10. April 2018

kl. 18.45- 21.00

ZBC Selandia

Willemoesvej 4
4200 Slagelse